Health&Fitness Motivation

A Self-Motivator for a Healthy Lifestyle

Some Updates

Leave a comment

Good morning 🙂 I have a couple of awesome things I’m really excited for, so where better to talk about them than on my fitness blog?

The first thing is I’m super pumped for my hot yoga class this Saturday. I started doing hot yoga a little over a year ago and it always made me feel awesome. I didn’t stick with it as much as I should have, and when I came to college I fell through on my practice. But I found a studio in downtown Bloomington that looks promising so I’m dragging a friend along with me to get zen.

d7299549d7f1c524604a8cacdf37c8bd(From:http://yogainspiration.co/)

(I can do this on my first day, right?)

So, okay, second thing. I came to college 100% set on being a journalism and political science double major. Coming from DC, it just made sense. However, after working on the newspaper at IU as a beat reporter, I realized news reporting just isn’t for me. I have so much respect for those who can devote the time and energy to reporting; it’s a really tough field to make it in. Now, instead,  I’m taking a total leap of faith and doing something a little crazy. I recently applied to transfer from IU back to schools on the East Coast. No hate for the Midwest, it just isn’t my style, especially at a big state school like IU. But, at whichever school I end up enrolling in, I’m no longer going to pursue journalism and polisci. I’ve decided to work toward a food nutrition and dietetics major. Depending on where I go, I might even combine that with global public health! So, to be honest, I’m terrified because I never thought this was the path I’d go down, but I’m following my newfound passion and plan on making it work 🙂

Lastly, on a similar note, I just emailed a ton of gyms in DC to see if I can shadow at them this summer! Assuming all goes according to plan, I want to get my certification as a personal trainer in May and start working at a gym during or after. I also have this plan to work with a friend or acquaintance who wants to get in shape by creating a workout plan and meal plan for them. I’m going to track his or her progress throughout summer and make a project portfolio that I can submit to future employers. I don’t really know what I’m doing, but that’s what practice is for I suppose! So fingers crossed for that and any advice is more than appreciated.

Leave a Reply

