Health&Fitness Motivation

A Self-Motivator for a Healthy Lifestyle

Stress Eating

2 Comments

I’m definitely guilty of stress eating. Especially when midterms are coming up, or when I’m having difficulty with a story for the newspaper, the best option seems like eating. To be honest, I’m writing this right now because I’m currently stuffing my face with berry granola…not the worst but definitely not the best.

According to Self Magazine, when humans are stressed, their bodies release the hormone cortisol, which triggers cravings for fatty and sugary foods. Bleh. That’s the body really screwing you over. The best thing to do is just say no. Ask yourself “Am I really hungry?” or drink some water. I’ve noticed green tea helps too, because it tastes good and feels like a treat, but doesn’t negatively impact your body.

However, sometimes you just need to snack. And if there’s no stopping you, it’s better to snack on something nutritious and low-cal than the alternative. In hopes of having a go-to list of “not so bad snacking” snacks, I’m posting one to my blog! A couple of these ideas came from Pinterest, and some more can be found here: http://www.womenshealthmag.com/weight-loss/100-calorie-snacks#. Here’s 10 easy stress stompers:

 Image

1. Edamame

2. Non-fat greek yogurt with banana

3. Plain oatmeal with blueberries

Image

4. String cheese

5. Carrots and humus

6. Mini fat free pretzels and Laughing Cow Light Swiss cheese wedge

7. Dried cranberries and almonds

Image

8. Raspberries with dark chocolate chips

9. Multigrain crackers or toast with avocado

10. Celery sticks dipped in peanut butter

2 thoughts on “Stress Eating

  1. It’s definitely easy to stress eat, and I’m guilty of that myself! But I do try to always have healthy snacks on hand — especially ones with some natural sweetness — to help fight those cravings. My go-to ones are string cheese, as you mentioned, as well as bananas, sugar-free Jell-o chocolate pudding cups, reduced fat cottage cheese cups and 100-calorie vanilla almonds.

    • I’ve never heard of vanilla almonds before! That’s an awesome idea because sometimes regular almonds can be too plain. Thanks for the comment and suggestions! I’ll definitely try em out 🙂

Leave a Reply

